Simi was so glad the awkward episode was over and could not wait to fill the girls in on all the great things that had been happening in her life which Peju and Tomi might have somehow missed. She had updated her bb status and posted pictures on her Facebook page but none of them had even mentioned the pictures of the new car she had put up as her display picture and she was not going to let it slide.

Simi chuckles and both ladies can’t help but wonder what is amusing so Tomi decides to ask “Simi is everything alright? You just chuckled all by yourself and there are clearly three of us at this table”. Well, Simi says, I can’t help but think how good God has been to me in the past few months, my husband got promoted to Vice-President at World Bank; Peter and Ruth both got accepted into Corona and I just got a new car too; Isn’t God just the best?

Wow! Congratulations Simi! We are so glad for you, they both exclaim. Aren’t you just so lucky and don’t you just have the perfect life? Simi chuckles even more at their remarks, she says “well, you know the Adepoju’s, we always like to be at our very best”.

At this point, Peju feels like crawling underneath the table because she knows exactly what is coming next and she certainly wasn’t wrong; Simi smiling perfectly says, how about you both? Anything you want to share?

Peju smiles shyly and says well, I am still at my old job, the pay isn’t fantastic but I am doing exactly what I want to be doing and loving it; I am still dating at the moment, hoping and praying that one of these guys would eventually turn out to be my prince charming and I definitely did not get a new car. They all laughed and while everyone is still laughing, Tomi quickly throws in the fact that she met a new guy who had recently popped the question, she opens her purse and brings out the velvet box containing the engagement ring and all excited, they begin to bombard her with questions; what is his name? What does he do? Is he a Christian? What is he like… they struggle to get their questions in first and she struggles to answer them all at once too.

While still at the coffee table Peju could not help but feel left out; her mind plays back to twenty years ago when they were all best of friends, sharing their goals, and life dreams. They all imagined that they would be married by 25, have 2 kids with the perfect man and live happily ever after. Now it seemed only Simi had managed to achieve all of those things and much more; she wanted so bad to be happy for Simi which she was but it always just made her more aware of her own shortcomings  and failures (as she likes to see it). She thought to herself, even Tomi would be getting married soon.

Peju sighs and looks at the ladies; they are obviously unaware of her thoughts and have no idea what she had just been thinking about.

Peju prays silently to God “Why do I feel so left out, I honestly feel like I am 28 years old and I have got absolutely nothing to show for it apart from my good job. It does not help that you seem to be blessing everyone around me and leaving me out; well maybe it is because just like everyone else, I have to be good to earn your love… the moment she thought that, she knew she was being unfair to God and she says, I am sorry about the last statement but that does not change how I feel right now. Help me trust and know that you have not forgotten me God”.

Simi interrupts her thoughts, we need to do this again soon Peju; we need to start planning for Tomi’s wedding. Peju grudgingly agrees, hoping her mood was not written all over her face and promising to get back to them as soon as she gets a date suitable for everyone.

Well Simi says, I guess this brings our coffee break to an end, so glad we are all leaving on a high. She picks up her bag, gives both ladies a peck on the cheek and struts away.

Tomi waits back just to ask Peju if everything was OK; Peju dismisses it with the wave of a hand saying “I am fine, just a slight headache, that’s all. Tomi gives her a hug and they walk out of the café together…